Florida State flag

An official website of the Florida State government.

New SMMC Regions

The Statewide Medicaid Managed Care (SMMC) program is currently delivered through an eleven-region structure that was established over a decade ago. Since that time, Florida’s provider networks, health care delivery model, and referral patterns have changed significantly.

During the 2022 Florida Legislative session,  SB 1950 realigned Florida’s counties into nine regions, rather than eleven, effective January 2025. This change does not reduce the number of contracts the Agency is required to award to ensure Medicaid enrollees have options when selecting a health plan.


The current eleven numbered regions will transition to nine lettered regions A-I as shown below in the maps.

Explore Maps

(Click on each map for a larger version)

Current SMMC Regions

New SMMC Regions