Jack Plagge, Manager
Hospital & Outpatient Services Unit
Bureau of Health Facility Regulation
2727 Mahan Drive, Mail Stop #31
Tallahassee, Florida 32308
Telephone: (850) 412-4549
Florida Relay Service (TDD): (800) 955-8771
An ambulatory surgery center (ASC) is a licensed facility not part of a hospital with the primary purpose of providing elective surgical care. The patient is admitted to and discharged from the facility within 24 hours.
A license issued by the Agency for Health Care Administration is required in order to operate an ambulatory surgical facility. It is unlawful for a person to use or advertise to the public, in any way or by any medium whatsoever, any facility as an "ambulatory surgical facility" unless such facility has first secured a license under the provisions of Chapter 395, Part I, Florida Statutes and Chapter 408, Part II, Florida Statutes. This licensure does not apply to veterinary facilities or to commercial business establishments using the word "hospital" as a part of a trade name if no treatment of human beings is performed on the premises of such establishments.
Initial applicants must have a current project under review with the Agency’s Office of Plans and Construction (850) 412-4477 for compliance with appropriate building code before applying for licensure. Any application for licensure submitted prior to having a project review will be returned. Applications and supporting forms (see application for checklist) must be submitted at least 60 days but no more than 120 days prior to the anticipated opening date. As a general rule, an appropriate time to submit a licensure application is when the 100% physical plant inspection is scheduled by the Agency's Office of Plans and Construction. The licensure application fee is $1,679.82 and the survey/inspection fee is $400. Applications submitted without the appropriate fees will not be accepted. Possession of a license is required prior to providing patient care.
The licensure application, renewal fee and supporting documents must be submitted to the Agency 120 to 60 days prior to the expiration date. A late fee of $50 per day, up to 50% of the licensure fee or $500 (whichever is less) will be assessed for any application not received 60 days prior to expiration. A renewal application will not be accepted if the license is expired. An initial license application must be filed if the license has expired.
Chapter 408.803, Florida Statutes defines a change of ownership as...(a) An event in which the licensee sells or otherwise transfers its ownership to a different individual or entity as evidenced by a change in federal employer identification number or taxpayer identification number; or (b) An event in which 51 percent or more of the ownership, shares, membership, or controlling interest of a licensee is in any manner transferred or otherwise assigned. This paragraph does not apply to a licensee that is publicly traded on a recognized stock exchange. A change solely in the management company or board of directors is not a change of ownership.
A licensure application, fee, and supporting forms (see application checklist) must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the change of ownership. The change of ownership application fee is $1,679.82. Application requirements are similar to initial licensure requirements with addition of statements from the buyer affirming any physical plant deficiencies will be corrected. In addition, an affirmation from the buyer and seller that any outstanding fees owed the State (owed by either party), will be paid, identifying who will pay and when. Documentation signed by the buyer and seller that will substantiate the change of ownership has occurred must be submitted before the application can be approved and license issued in the name of the new licensee.
Changes to the name, address, number of operating rooms, procedure rooms, recovery beds or personnel requires an AHCA Form 3130-2001, Health Care Licensing Application Ambulatory Surgical Center. The $25 license reprint fee will apply if the change affects the face of the license.
Online Licensure - Providers can now make changes to the fictitious name, personnel, management company, address, licensed beds, and hours of operation by going to the online portal and creating a new application. Contact the licensure unit for additional information.
A licensee must inform the agency not less than 30 days prior to the discontinuance of operation and comply with the requirements listed in Chapter 408.810(4), Florida Statutes.
Accreditation is voluntary. Accredited ASCs meeting Rule 59A-5.004(3), Florida Administrative Code, may be "deemed" to be in compliance with the licensure and certification requirements. Deemed ASCs are not scheduled for routine on-site licensure and/or recertification surveys, although periodic Life Safety Code inspections are still required. Facilities must provide a complete copy of the most recent survey report indicating continuation as an accredited facility in lieu of inspections. The survey report should include correspondence from the accrediting organization containing:
Pursuant to section 395.0162, Florida Statutes, this report will become part of the facility file maintained by our office and therefore will be considered public record. Facilities no longer accredited or granted accreditation status other than accredited or fail to submit the requested documentation will be scheduled for annual licensure and/or recertification surveys to be conducted by Agency field office staff.
|Accrediting Organization||Web Address||Deemed for State Licensure||Deemed for Medicare Certification|
|Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC)||http://www.aaahc.org/||Yes||Yes|
|Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC)||https://www.achc.org/||Yes||Yes|
|The Joint Commission (TJC)||http://www.jointcommission.org/||Yes||Yes|
Medicare certification for initial enrollment or change of ownership is achieved by adherence to requirements in 42 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 416. This includes submission of the following to the Agency for Health Care Administration, Hospital and Outpatient Services Unit:
In addition, a CMS Form 855B must be submitted to the Florida Medicare Administrative Contractor.
|Chapter 395, Part 1, Florida Statutes||ASC & Hospital Licensure Requirements|
|Chapter 59A-5, Florida Administrative Code||ASC Licensure Rules|
|Chapter 59A-10, Florida Administrative Code||Internal Risk Management Program|
|Chapter 408, Part II, Florida Statutes||Agency General Licensure Requirements|
|Chapter 59A-35, Florida Administrative Code||Agency General Licensure Rules|
|Title 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)||To search all of Title 42|
|Part 416||Ambulatory Surgical Services|
CMS State Operations Manual [1.75MB, PDF]
|Resource for program requirements and interpretive guidelines|
All applications are available on the following website: http://ahca.myflorida.com/MCHQ/HQALicensureForms/index.shtml
AHCA Form 3130-2001
|All application types||
Standard ambulatory surgical center application required to apply for or modify a license.
Providers can use online licensure to submit renewal and change during licensure applications.
|AHCA Form 3130-2001CL||
Application Checklist Ambulatory Surgical Center [51KB, DOCX]
For informational purposes only
|A guide for applicants to use when completing the Health Care Licensing Application for Ambulatory Surgical Centers.|
|AHCA Form 3110-1024||
|Collects the confidential information to comply with the reporting requirements pursuant to Chapter 408, Part II, Florida Statutes.|
|AHCA Form 3130-2003||
|Provides an outline to develop an emergency management plan. The plan must be approved by the county emergency operations center annually.|
|Internal AHCA memo signifying compliance with Florida Building Code and which lists the beds (Class C operating rooms and recovery beds) eligible for licensure.|
|Articles of incorporation or similarly titled document as filed with the Florida Department of State|
|Compliance with zoning requirements||
|Any documentation from a local government identifying the facility is in compliance with local zoning requirements|
|Certificate of Occupancy||Initial||Specific documentation from a local government granting the right to occupy a facility.|
|Contract between the licensee and a management company for management services|
|Closing Document||Change of Ownership||Bill of Sale or similar document signed by the buyer and seller indicating the date of transfer of ownership.|
|Statement of outstanding deficiencies||Change of Ownership||Statement from the buyer assuring any uncorrected life-safety code deficiencies will be corrected timely.|
|Statement of outstanding payments due||Change of Ownership||Statement from the buyer identifying any outstanding balance owed AHCA (buyer or seller), and indicating who will pay and when.|