Upcoming Events

The latest Learning Opportunities information. [PDF 261 KB]

For more news and information please read the latest News Bytes. [PDF 599 KB]

Program Year 2015 Applications

Adopt, Implement or Upgrade (AIU): attestations can be submitted now through the grace period of March 31, 2016.

Meaningful Use Applications must wait until the necessary system changes to accommodate Modified Stage 2 have been installed. The expected date is early July 2016. The grace period for Meaningful Use applications will be through August 31, 2016.

Click here for the Additional Documentation form for Program Years 2015 and 2016.

Program Year 2016 Applications

This is the last year that providers can begin participation in the EHR Incentive Program. AIU applications can be submitted starting January 1, 2016.

Meaningful Use applications must wait until the system changes are installed in early July, 2016.

Medicare Payment Adjustments

House and Senate lawmakers passed a bill that was signed into law that makes it easier for eligible professionals (EPs) and eligible hospitals (EHs) to obtain a Meaningful Use hardship exception for the 2015 reporting year and avoid a 3 percent Medicare payment adjustment in 2017. The exemption is not automatic; EPs will need to apply for the exemption by March 15, 2016; EHs have until April 1, 2016. For more information, please visit the CMS website, https://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Legislation/EHRIncentivePrograms/PaymentAdj_Hardship.html.

2015 Modification Rule

The 2015 Modification Rule became effective December 15, 2015. This Rule restructures the meaningful use (MU) requirements into a single set of objectives for all providers, known as Modified Stage 2. The intent is to simplify the program by having all providers, regardless of program stage, attest to the same set of MU measures. The Rule does specify alternate exclusions and specifications for certain objectives and measures for providers that were scheduled to demonstrate Stage 1 of MU in 2015.

There are no changes to reporting requirements for Clinical Quality Measures (CQMs).

For more information on the final 2015 Modification Rule, visit CMS 2015 Modification Rule Tip Sheet.