This includes previously unlicensed facilities and reactivation of an expired license. In order to apply, a hospital applicant must have a valid Certificate of Need from the Certificate of Need/Financial Analysis Unit (CON) and have a current project under review with the Agency's Office of Plans and Construction (OPC). Applicants should submit a hospital licensure application, clinical laboratory licensure application (if applicable), fees and supporting documents when the physical plant is scheduled for the OPC 100% inspection. When all required information is received and acceptable, including successful completion of the OPC 100% inspection, an initial licensure inspection will be scheduled. Licenses will be issued when documentation of a successful licensure inspection is complete and filed. Please note a valid license is required before patient care can be provided. A separate application is required for each facility located on separate premises.
The licensure application, renewal fee and supporting documents must be submitted to the Agency 120 to 60 days prior to the expiration date. A late fee of $50 per day, up to 50% of the licensure fee or $500 (whichever is less) will be assessed for any application not received 60 days prior to expiration. A renewal application will not be accepted if the hospital license is expired. A separate application is required for each facility located on separate premises. Clinical laboratory licenses under the same ownership/control as the hospital (hospital based) must concurrently submit a clinical laboratory renewal application.
Chapter 408.803, Florida Statutes defines "Change of ownership" as: an event in which 51 percent or more of the ownership, shares, membership, or controlling interest of a licensee is in any manner transferred or otherwise assigned. This does not apply to a licensee that is publicly traded on a recognized stock exchange. Also, a change solely in the management company or board of directors is not a change of ownership.
A licensure application, fee and supporting forms must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the change of ownership. Before the application can be approved, a bill of sale or other closing document signed by the buyer and the seller and showing the effective date of the transfer must be received by the Agency. The Agency will not transfer the license to the proposed owner prior to the actual date of sale. A separate application is required for each facility located on separate premises. Clinical laboratory licenses under the same ownership/control as the hospital (hospital based) must concurrently submit a clinical laboratory CHOW application.
Changes to the name, addresses, licensed beds, or select personnel (chief executive officer, financial officer, patient safety officer, risk manager) requires an AHCA Form 3130-8001, Health Care Licensing Application Hospitals. The $25 license reprint fee will apply if the change affects the face of the license.
A licensee must inform the agency not less than 30 days prior to the discontinuance of operation and comply with the requirements listed in Chapter 408.810(4), Florida Statutes.