NOTICE: This page has moved to http://ahca.myflorida.com/MCHQ/Health_Facility_Regulation/Long_Term_Care/HME_FAQs.shtml. This page is no longer maintained and will be removed May 20, 2018. Please bookmark the new page for future use.
Division of Health Quality Assurance
Bureau of Health Facility Regulation
Home Care Unit
2727 Mahan Drive - Mail Stop #34
Tallahassee, FL 32308
(850) 412-4403 Phone
(850) 922-5374 Fax
1. What do I need to do to get a Home Medical Equipment Provider License?
Answer: See the “Summary of the Initial Home Medical Equipment Licensure Process” on the Agency’s website, http://ahca.myflorida.com/homecare. Once on the Home Care Unit home page, click on “Home Medical Equipment Provider.” The forms necessary for licensure are listed under “Licensure Application and Related Forms;” instructions are included on each form. It is unlawful to own, operate or maintain a home medical equipment business without a current valid license.
2. How do I renew my license?
Answer: Download and complete the application forms as listed under the heading “Licensure Application and Related Forms” on the Agency’s website, http://ahca.myflorida.com/ homecare. Each time a renewal licensure application is submitted, all listed forms must be completed. To avoid delays in processing the application, complete every item. If the answer to a question is No or not applicable (N/A), please indicate. The application to renew a home medical equipment provider license is due 60 days before the expiration date of the current license per section 400.806(2), Florida Statutes, in order to avoid a late fine. Home medical equipment providers that do not renew before the expiration date will be handled as initial applicants. It is unlawful to own, operate or maintain a home medical equipment business without a current valid license.
3. How do I report a change of ownership?
Answer: When a change of ownership of a licensed home medical equipment provider takes place, an application for change of ownership must be submitted. Section 408.803(5), Florida Statutes, states, “‘Change of ownership’ means:
A change solely in the management company or board of directors is not a change of ownership.”
The license does not transfer to the new owner; the new owner must apply for a license. To apply, download and complete the required forms listed under “Licensure Application and Related Forms” on the Agency’s website, http://ahca.myflorida.com/homecare. A change of ownership application is due at least 60 days before the effective date of the change of ownership per sections 400.806(2), Florida Statutes and 59A-25.005(3), Florida Administrative Code, in order to avoid a late fine. It is unlawful to own, operate or maintain a home medical equipment business without a current valid license.
4. How do I report a change of address and/or change of name?
Answer: To report a change of address and/or name, submit a completed Home Medical Equipment Provider Request to Amend License for Change of Name and/or Address, AHCA Recommended Form, November 2012, (available on the Agency’s website http://ahca.myflorida.com/homecare) along with the $25 fee in the form of a check or money order payable to AHCA. The notification must be received not less than 21 days before the actual move in order to avoid a $500.00 late fine. A license showing the new address will be issued and mailed.
5. Do I have to submit personnel changes to the Agency for Health Care Administration?
Answer: A change in the general manager of a licensed home medical equipment provider must be reported to the Home Care Unit within 45 days. Submit written notification of the change along with proof of the required level 2 background screening, which is a criminal history check through both the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), completed within the past five years and a signed Affidavit of Compliance with Background Screening Requirements, AHCA Form 3100-0008, August 2010. Further information regarding background screening may be found on the Agency’s website, http://ahca.myflorida.com/backgroundscreening/.
NOTE: Section 59A-25.004(1)(a), Florida Administrative Code requires the general manager have "A minimum of two years experience in business management or a college degree in business or a health care related field can substitute for the required experience year for year."
Section 408.810, Florida Statutes, requires a change in financial officer be reported within 21 calendar days of the effective date of the change. Submit written notification of the change along with proof of the required level 2 background screening, which is a criminal history check through both the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), completed within the past five years and a signed Affidavit of Compliance with Background Screening Requirements, AHCA Form 3100-0008, August 2010.
6. How often do personnel have to repeat background screening?
Answer: The general manager, financial officer and any employee or contractor that is expected to provide direct personal care or services or have access to client property, funds or living areas must undergo a level 2 background screening, which is a criminal history check through both the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), every five years. Detailed information regarding background screening requirements may be found on the Agency’s website, http://ahca.myflorida.com/backgroundscreening/.
7. Who do I contact to get a Medicare provider number?
Answer: Contact the National Supplier Clearinghouse, which processes Medicare supplier enrollment applications, at 1-866-238-9652 or visit the website http://www.palmettogba.com/nsc.
8. Who do I contact to get a Medicaid provider number?
Contact Florida Medicaid Provider Enrollment at 1-800-289-7799, option 4, or visit the website http://portal.flmmis.com/FLPublic/Provider_Enrollment/tabId/50/Default.aspx.
9. Why do I need professional insurance coverage?
Answer: Professional insurance, in the amount of not less than $250,000 per claim, is required in state law (Section 400.931, Florida Statutes) for all home medical equipment providers and contractors. Home medical equipment providers are required to supply home medical equipment services (delivery, set-up and instruction, maintenance and/or repair). Failure to provide appropriate services could result in serious harm or even death. Professional insurance ensures a home medical equipment provider against legal liability of the insured and against loss, damage or expense incidental to a claim of such liability, arising out of the death, injury or disablement of any person, or arising out of damage to the economic interest of any person, as the result of negligence in rendering expert professional service. Providers and contractors must maintain continuous coverage.
Home medical equipment providers must also maintain continuous commercial liability coverage in the amount of not less than $250,000 per claim. Proof of insurance must specify the provider’s name and street address. Proof must be submitted to the Agency within 21 days of any change, including coverage renewal, during the licensure period.
10. What should I expect during the Agency for Health Care Administration inspection?
Answer: The “State Regulation Set” is the document that will be used by the Agency surveyor to complete an inspection. For a successful inspection, download the “State Regulation Set used by surveyors” from the Agency’s website http://ahca.myflorida.com/homecare. This document can serve as a guide for implementation of Florida laws and rules governing licensed home medical equipment providers. These regulations must be implemented before the survey takes place. The initial licensure survey will be announced; renewal licensure surveys, which occur approximately every 2 years, will be unannounced.
11. Are there any exemptions from an inspection by the Agency?
Answer: Yes, exemptions from inspection are available to provider locations that:
Note: Any initial, change of ownership or renewal application to operate a home medical equipment provider at a physical location outside the State of Florida, which is received by the Agency on or after July 1, 2012, must include proof of accreditation or an application for accreditation from an organization recognized by the Agency for Health Care Administration.
12. How do I obtain a Medical Oxygen Retailer Permit?
Answer: Visit the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation website at http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/ddc/MedicalOxygenRetail.html to obtain licensure and application information.
13. Do I need a home medical equipment license if I sell diabetic items only?
Answer: No, diabetic monitors and disposable supplies, e.g., diabetic, ostomy, urological and wound care supplies have been identified as equipment and supplies that do not require services; therefore, locations that sell only these items are not required to obtain a home medical equipment provider license.
14. Do I need a home medical equipment license if I sell orthotics and prosthetics only?
Answer: No, prosthetics and orthotics are not defined in Florida law as home medical equipment for licensure purposes; therefore, locations that sell only these items are not required to obtain a home medical equipment provider license. Businesses that are involved in any capacity with supplying or the practice of orthotics and/or prosthetics may be subject to the licensure requirements under Chapter 468, Florida Statutes. Please visit the Florida Board of Orthotists and Prosthetists website at http://floridaorthotistsprosthetists.gov to obtain application and licensure information, laws, rules and other requirements. If home medical equipment other than orthotics and prosthetics are sold at the same location, a home medical equipment provider license is required.